In Lieu of a Chapter

I have to admit that I have not written chapter seven yet, though I fully intend to.  I want to get it down soon, but unfortunately this weekend is not looking like it’s going to be a good one for writing.  See, tonight I work.  Then tomorrow I work a double shift.  And, you guessed it, Sunday I’m working a double shift.

Waitressing is serious business.

That being said, I’m going to hint at something I’ve put into the works.

It’s essentially the second stupidest thing I’ve ever done, since first prize for stupidity still goes to this thing right here.  But it all stemmed from me sitting home alone, wondering, waiting, reading rejection emails, and then waiting again.

I can’t sit by and take a passive position in this publishing process anymore.  It feels so weird.  Like…I wrote the book, and now whatever happens next with it is completely out of my hands?

I don’t think so.

So I developed a stupid plan.  And part of that plan involves sharing the first few pages of the most recent version of Hellbound.  With my agent’s blessing of course.  I will be sharing it here, and I will be sharing it with friends, family, and coworkers.  And finally, hopefully, I will be sharing it with complete strangers in a public setting.  Not sure how yet, but I’m gonna figure it out.

Finally, if people read and like the excerpt, I am going to be offering them the chance to sign off on it, so to speak.  I have ordered some little cards that simply say, “I support Hellbound by Rebecca Leviton.”  I will be collecting signed cards like signatures for a petition, only not that.

The cards will be arriving in about a week, so I’m going to be posting that excerpt of Hellbound soon, as well as more information about the cards.  If this seems intriguing to you, as I hope it does, then keep an eye out.  Like I said, it’s probably a stupid idea, but it’s better than sitting around waiting for other people to decide my fate.

Until such time as the cards arrive (and after they arrive, too), I will still be trying to post chapters of this new book, but first I gotta survive this weekend.

That is all!

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Humor, writing

Leave a Reply

