In Pursuit of Not-Boredom

Sometimes when I’m writing a book, I get an idea for a completely different book.  And then I end up writing two books at once.  It happens.

I am still working on The Dreamcatchers, but man does it get boring.  I mean…I already wrote that book.  Twice!  It’s not new or fresh to me.  So I started working on a different project.  It had been gestating in my mind for quite some time.  In fact, I’d already tried to write it once and boy did it suck!  Second attempt?  Better.  I might be on to something.  Or not.  It’s not like it explores any unique themes, and it might even border on cliche.  But it’s fun to write, and it’s good practice, so what do I care?

Now that I’ve done an absolutely stellar job of selling this thing, I’m going to come in for the kill: I will be posting this book here on my blog!

YAAAY!

One chapter a day, until it’s done.  Then there will be an entire book on my blog that you can read.

This is going to blow up in my face very soon, since I am eventually going to hit some Writer’s Block.  The hope was that by setting these arbitrary deadlines for myself, I’d be able to motivate myself to keep writing.  It might work.

A word of caution: This book is not yet completed.  That means the writing is very rough, and it also means that the inevitable reworkings, plot changes, and edits will all be put off until after its completion.  So what you read will probably be nowhere near what the finished product will look like, yeah?  That being said, I’ll try to keep updating the blog every time I edit a chapter.  Not that anyone’s about to go back and reread, but anyone who joins the story late might benefit from it.

So that’s it.  I don’t have a title for this book, but we’ll go with the working title: Bandu Pole

Without any further delays, here’s Chapter One!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One – Never let your guard down.

Joss pressed one end of her Bandu pole deep into the earth, feeling the gentlest of vibrations traveling through it. Her fingertips tingled. Someone was close. She planted her feet, trying to feel those same vibrations, but finding them a bit elusive.

Two – Always be one step ahead.

Dragging the pole through the earth, she felt for the subtle increase of the vibrations. When she felt the change, she did nothing to indicate it with her body language. The person sneaking up on her from the southwest – an Enforcer perhaps? – would continue to believe she was none the wiser.

Three – Never leave camp without your Bandu pole. The Bandu pole is your best friend.

Joss readjusted her grip, keeping her stance relaxed but ready. She could tell by the increase in vibrations that he was getting closer. He would emerge from the trees soon, entering the clearing in which she stood.

She’d been searching for food and supplies. It was her turn. She’d never seen an Enforcer come out this far into the wilderness before. He was uncomfortably close to their camp. They might have to pack up and move soon.

The vibrations were getting stronger. He was behind her now. She took a deep breath. If it was a Goliath, she would employ Rule Number Five (If you can’t win a fight, run!). If it was a Kreech or a Bortol, she would fight. She’d been able to take those guys on since she was seven.

She waited just a moment longer, still feigning ignorance. The vibrations were stronger now. It was time.

She hefted the pole, spun it over her head, and whirled to face her attacker.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tune in tomorrow for Chapter Two!  Which will be significantly longer.

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Humor, writing

Leave a Reply

