Character Shirts

No I am not going to try to sell you shirts I made about my books on CafePress or something.  I was just lying awake last night thinking about what I want to write next for The Dreamcatchers, but I am having a little trouble despite my “Change Something” plan.  Mainly because it is very hard to juggle three main characters.  You know what with the unique personalities and equal page-time (my book version of screen time).  It’s hard to make sure they all have a fairly equal impact on the course of events.

Normally when I’m lying awake at night, I just make up stories about lovable hitmen.  This time I decided to make up a little exercise for myself.  I decided to make some T-shirts for my protagonists.  There would be three each, mainly because three seemed like a good number.  The first would display each character’s greatest fear.  The second would display each character’s greatest desire.  The fun thing about that second one was that I decided to go with a desire the characters themselves might not even know they had.

Why did I choose T-shirts?  Because you can’t fit too much on a shirt.

Full Story

See?  If you try that, you’re only going to get part of the story.

Part of the Story

Since I am notoriously bad at censoring myself, I thought limiting my ramble-prone brain to the confines of a T-shirt would help me….somehow.  No I don’t know why it’s necessary to keep things concise.  It’s just a stupid, insomnia-induced writing exercise, okay?

So, T-shirt 1.  Greatest fear.

Shaina

Afraid to Fail

Cady

Afraid to Try

Eric

Afraid to Slow Down

Second shirt.  Greatest desire.

Shaina:

Confidence Shirt

Cady:

Courage Shirt

Eric:

Closure Shirt

No I wasn’t trying me to make them all start with C, but I’m tickled that they do.

The third shirt was hard.  I just chose three because it’s usually the go-to number for lists and exercises.  At first I was just going to choose a few words that belonged to the characters, but that had me revealing things I wasn’t ready to.  Things I wasn’t even sure about permanently attributing to these characters yet.  So in the end I did something a little different.  I decided to draw stick figures on the shirts.  The figures were placed in a way that I thought would encompass these characters without the use of words.  See what you think.

Shaina:

Shaina's Shirt

Cady:

Cady's Shirt

Eric:

Eric's Shirt

So that’s that.  You might not know much about these characters but now maybe you know a little more?  Without even having to read anything about them.  That’s kinda cool right?  Anyway, feel free to try the Shirt Exercise yourself.  It’s actually a really good way to get you to think, get those creative juices flowing.

That’s all I’ve got.  I get all my best (or is it worst?) blog ideas at 1 AM it seems.

Byyyye!

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Humor, writing

Leave a Reply

