Kanji-mation

This post has nothing to do with writing.  Today I decided I wanted to practice my animating/GIF-making skills, and I thought I would do so using Japanese Kanji.  As you may recall, I am a huge fan of learning languages, so I thought I’d incorporate that into my animations.  A little background before we start: Kanji make up one of the three alphabets used in Japan (the other two are Hiragana and Katakana).  Kanji are actually borrowed from Chinese characters.  Most are drawn exactly the same and have the exact same meaning, though some have taken on different meanings and/or are drawn differently.  I’m only telling you this so you don’t think you’re learning Chinese from me.  Even if it looks like you are, you’re not.  It’s Japanese.  Anyway, enjoy!

Sun-Kanji

Sun-Kanji-Shines

Wind-and-Clouds

Rain

Flower-Kanji

Bowing-Mini-Bex

Kanji-Translations

That’s all!  Hope those were as fun to look at as they were to make.  I even have a comic and random Word of the Day for you!

Word of the Day: Fusillade (n) – 1. A simultaneous or continuous discharge of firearms.  2. A general discharge or outpouring of anything.

Writer's-Block-Strip-36

2 Comments

Filed under Animation, Comic, Humor, Language

2 responses to “Kanji-mation

Leave a Reply

