Memory Avenue

I realized recently that I’ve been thinking a lot about old books I wrote/tried to write/wanted to write and how I could use my current know-how to maybe improve them or rework them.  Which led me to the idea of doing a kind of retrospective (for me) series of blog posts about some of my past works of fiction, what they’re about, and how I would/will change them to make them better.

All of this would be, as the title of this post suggests, a trip down Memory Lane.  But because there will be so many memories, I thought I’d pun or something.

But Memory Lane is not often a safe place for me to be.  Most of the places there are kind of sketchy and I know I don’t want to be there but they’re like bad restaurants that have really good free samples.  For instance, one Memory might say, “Hey, remember that time you went swimming at your sister’s friend’s pool?  And it was a lot of fun?”  And then I’d be like “Yeah!  I do remember that!”  And then I would enter all the way into that memory and remember that I also tried to push my sister’s friend’s big brother into the pool while he was preparing to take a dive, and it had absolutely no effect.  And I was so embarrassed that I remember it a decade and some change later.  (It was all because of an episode of Dexter’s Lab I watched, which just goes to show that children will try to imitate what they see on TV)

Imitating TV

My point in giving you this jumbled preamble is that the next few posts will be hard for me in a way.  Much like the memory shared above, the memories and truths about these books will be hard to share.  Because some of the things I wrote in my books could be embarrassing, but we have to learn from those things, so I will share them even if it means baring my soul to the whole Internet.

So the next post you see will be all about The Dreamcatchers, my first ever book.  Which I have written about before, so you might read some things you already know.  And obviously I will try to include as many pictures as I can, as well as a somewhat structured format.  We’ll see how it goes.  Overall I think I want to talk about: The Dreamcatchers, Leaves, and Familiar.  Maybe some others if I have the time and attention span.

Anyhoo, that wasn’t a real post, but you still get a Word of the Day and a comic.

Tune in next time for a look at The Dreamcatchers.

Word of the Day: Retrospective (adj) – Directed to the past; contemplative of past situations, events, etc.

Writer's-Block-Strip-30

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Comic, Humor, writing

Leave a Reply

