Tumblr Fumblr

Recently, as you know, I’ve been trying to build a platform for myself as an author.  Along those lines, I figured I’d try creating a Tumblr account even though I still have no idea what Tumblr actually is.  My grasp of it is that it’s a blog but also a social network but also a place where you mainly share photos, GIFs, and videos.

So I created an account.  And then I tried to log in.  And then I got redirected to the log in page.  Then I entered my information again, and got redirected to the log in page again.  It was an infinite loop of Tumblr log in pages.

Tumblr Loop

After several agonizing minutes of this, I decided to try changing my password.  I followed the link, changed my password to something completely different, and tried again.  Tumblr Loop prevailed.

It was unavoidable at this point; I had to contact their support team.  I sent an email as follows (all green text has been added in for the purpose of this blog to emphasize a point):

I just created a new Tumblr account and it won’t let me log in. I tried resetting my password and clearing Cookies from my browser, but all it does is redirect me to the log in page every time I try to log in. I already verified my email address, so I don’t know what’s going on.

Their response was:

Hi Rebecca,

Did you ever receive an email address verification message from us? If not, have you checked your Spam or Junk mail folders to make sure the verification email didn’t end up there?

My response was:

I did in fact get the verification email and I verified my email address,
as I said in my original message.

Their response was:

Hi Rebecca,

Ah! So you did! Sorry about that; moving a little too fast this evening! Could you try three things:

1. See if clearing your browser’s cache helps.

2. If #1 doesn’t help, Try deleting your web browser’s cookies for Tumblr.com and see if you can log in then. Let me know if you still have a problem.

3. Finally, try restarting your computer.

At least he didn’t tell me to reset my password.  Except he kinda did, because he did link me to their FAQ page for what happens if you can’t log in, and resetting your password is on there.

If you hadn’t guessed, I’ll let you know that it’s still not working.  I have restarted my computer at this point, cleared my cookies, reset my password, verified my email address…I’m done.  No Tumblr for me.  Bummer.

No comic today as I have been lazy.

Word of the Day: Agonize (v) – to suffer extreme pain or anguish.

2 Comments

Filed under Humor, Technology

2 responses to “Tumblr Fumblr

  1. But did you try clearing your cookies? (Please don’t throw anything at me!)

    One last ditch? Sometimes a different browser will work. But if it’s that hard to work with, it may not be worth it. How ’bout Twitter? Do you tweet?

    • I tried both Firefox and Google Chrome actually.

      Unfortunately, I am morally opposed to Twitter, so even though it might help me, I refuse to use it. I’m that stuck up.

Leave a Reply

