The Leaning Tower of Creativity

Got a few things to share with you.  The first two are videos.

This is courtesy of my best friend, who shared this with me after reading my posts on Fifty Shades of Grey.  It made me laugh, and I think you’ll like it, but I still feel the need to warn you that it will contain sexual content.  It is definitely NSFW.  Ladies and Gentlemen, Gilbert Gottfried reads Fifty Shades of Grey (I’m sorry, but the video won’t embed properly, so you’re going to have to click a link.  I promise it’s safe):

http://www.jest.com/video/174214/gilbert-gottfried-reads-fifty-shades-of-grey

The second video is the trailer for The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which is on my list of books that I recommend, and I hope that the movie will present an accurate portrayal.  It looks like it’s going to be good.

And finally, I want to share some brief news about my writing.  It’s not really news so much as an update.  That is…I’ve started working on Heavenbound, the sequel to Hellbound, again.  For me it’s always difficult to concentrate on just one book, or even to feel that accomplished when I’ve finished one, and I thought I’d give you a short explanation for why that is.

This is a list of all the books I’m either working on or have worked on or want to work on in the future:

The titles that are in green are the ones that I have finished, as far as I can call a book “finished.”  I will still need to go back and rework them and edit them, and they’re not all ready to be sent to a publisher, but I’m satisfied with their current state.  (I don’t have a title for “Steampunk Book” as of yet.  It’s just kept eluding me.  The file on my computer is “Steampunk Dreambook” since it was inspired by a dream I had.)

The titles in red are ones that need to be completely rewritten.  Think about that for a second.  The “re” in “rewritten” means I already wrote them once.  That’s right, all the books in red have been completed in some capacity, and they all need to be started from scratch.  Oy.

Finally, the titles in blue are books that are in progress in some way, shape, or form.  That might mean that I have a page or two written, or a chapter or two, or none of it written at all (the sequel to Grotesque being one of them).

As you can see…that’s a lot of books.  And I really want to write all of them one day.  So you might be able to understand why this is a bit of a daunting task, and why working on one book doesn’t seem like all that much of an accomplishment.

I don’t know how I manage to keep going, knowing that this list is looming over me, and that I’ve only got one lifetime to finish it.  Not to mention my brain will probably start adding to it long before I’m even close to finishing this first batch.

But I’ll keep chugging along, because this is what I do.  And maybe I’ll be more motivated to do it once someone actually starts paying me to make books happen.  Who knows?

That’s all I wanted to say.

Oh, no Mini Bexes were harmed in the making of this blog post.

Word of the Day: Daunt (v) – To overcome with fear; intimidate.

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Humor, writing

Leave a Reply

