When I Grow up, I Want to be John Green

So a while back I posted a link to a video that was recommended to me by my friend, Alan.  (Alan, I know you’re reading this because I tagged you in the post on Facebook, and I’m probably going to tell you about it later.  Well I haven’t tagged you yet since the post doesn’t exist yet, but I will.)

And no I’m not going to link you to the video again.  I’m going to link you to the blog post (click here) because hey, this is my blog, and I happen to think you should read it.  So lately, I was bored.  I was supposed to be writing a ten-page essay, but I’m graduating in less than a month, and it’s a beautiful Friday afternoon here in New York, and I just wasn’t having it.  So I decided to go to YouTube and find the beginning of John Green’s video blogging (I refuse to say “vlogging.”  It just sounds weird) and watch all the videos he exchanged with his brother.  See what John and his brother, Hank, did in 2007 was they started using (Fine!  I’ll say it!) a vlog as a way of communicating with each other.  Hank challenged John to go a full year without any text-based communication, so that was the start of the blog, and their videos are really funny.

So I was watching them and laughing and not doing my essay, and I came to this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&feature=fvwp&v=Ck-dW8YGyes.  And that’s when I decided I wanted to be John Green when I grow up.  (Incidentally, I have also written a blog post that contains a short story that touches on this phrase – “When I grow up…”)  Because John Green is funny, and he’s a published author, and he’s won awards, and he’s written books in the Young Adult genre, and he seems like a genuinely nice guy.  And I want to be/do all those things!  (As long as you replace “guy” with “girl,” “woman,” or “lady.”  Your choice)  And I found, also, that I was really happy for him even though I don’t know him.  And also I’m currently reading one of his books, and it’s really good.  (I should probably add it to the Books I Recommend page. I’ll do that later.)  It’s important to aspire to be someone who’s good at what they do, I think.  And that is why I owe Alan a sandwich or something for introducing me to these brothers and their crazy vlog (ew).  I hope I get to realize my dream and be John Green one day.  Even if that does mean I’ll have to vlog.  At least once.  Just to say I did it.  Because I do like to talk, and I love how when you listen to a recording of yourself, your voice always sounds so foreign!  I know you never hear yourself right, but it’s still really awesome.  I guess I’ll think about it.

That’s all!

Word of the Day: Aspire (v) – to long, aim, or seek ambitiously; be eagerly desirous,especially for something great or of high value.

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Humor, writing

Leave a Reply

