I Solutioned the Problem!

I don’t know why I chose to make up a word for this post’s title.  I guess it’s just because I’m so excited that I thought of a temporary solution to my horrible problem.  In case you can’t figure out what my problem is, I’ll tell you.  My problem is that I can’t draw pretty pictures to put on my blog with my tablet right now because my computer exploded.  And I thought it would be such a long time before I’d be able to get Photoshop Elements up and running again and all of my posts were going to have to be boring blocks of text and everyone would hate me and then the world would explode!  But luckily for you all, I’ve figured out a way to save the world!  Because I remembered this ancient technology that was widely used before computers.  It’s called Paper!  And I found some paper and a marker pen!  And a camera!  And then I drew a picture on the paper and I took a picture of it with my camera and now I can put it on my blog for you to see!

Yes it’s lined paper because I was too lazy to go downstairs and find my sketchbook, and this tiny notebook was all I found.  Also I only have a black sharpie and a blue pen, so there’s not really much I can draw in the way of color…

But it’s still a pretty good solution for the time being, yeah?  I’m pretty proud of myself.  Now you won’t have to stare at walls of text all the time.

Since I’m writing a new post, I figure I might as well say something about writing, since that’s what this blog is all about.  For the record, I do remember that I was listing my favorite authors, and I’m not going to stop doing that.  I still want to write about Melissa Marr, and maybe a few others, but I don’t feel like doing that right now.

See, today while I was on the bus, I got to thinking…

And that’s not such a bad idea, because I think it’s important to spell out my reasons for doing what I do.  It might help…save the world or something.  I’m not sure.  But it feels like a good idea so I’m going to do it!

ONE: It’s fun.  This seems pretty self-explanatory, but hey, I’ll elaborate a bit anyway.  You know all those things I talk about in this blog?  The creating of worlds and getting to know characters and stuff?  All that is fun for me.  Don’t get me wrong.  It can be tiring and frustrating and all that, but it can also be invigorating and entertaining.  And it also feels like it’s a part of me now, which is kinda cool.

TWO: It’s an escape.  I sometimes say that I don’t write non-fiction because if I wanted to experience real life, I’d just live it.  I write fiction and fantasy because that means that, in some small way, I get to live in made up worlds with new and different rules.  It also helps on those few occasions when I’m not so happy with my (real) world.  If that happens, I can just go somewhere else for a while, so to speak.  Also…

THREE: I can do things in my books that I could never do in real life.  My characters can do all kinds of amazing things that I could never do.  For example, among all of my characters, the following skills have been accumulated: Magic, shape shifting, fighting, ballet, gymnastics, healthy eating habits, courage, confidence, liking cats, um…being male?  On top of that, they have experience in their lives that I don’t have yet, and possibly never could have.  Like that being male thing.  Or having a boyfriend/husband.  Not that I couldn’t have a boyfriend!  I just haven’t yet.  But that same constraint doesn’t exist for some of my characters.  Get it?  So even though I can’t do/haven’t done a lot of those things, in a way, I still have.  Thanks to (to name a few) Riley, Shauna, Eric, Aaron, Cady, Serrafiel, Molly, Cage, Aiden, Elysia, Aradia, and Kemnebi.

FOUR: I want to share my stories.  Please note that “share” is different than “sell”.  Yes, it would be awesome if I could sell my stories because money is important.  But that’s not why I write.  I mean, come on.  No one ever says, “I really want to make money.  I think I’ll invest any energy at all in becoming an author.  That’ll be worthwhile.”  So no, money is not the ultimate goal.  But I strive to get published and I write this blog because I like to share my stories.  It’s hard to explain, but there’s a lot of satisfaction in it.  I feel like…if I can just entertain one person, or make someone feel something…then maybe my efforts have been validated.  And it doesn’t count if it’s someone who knows me, because truthfully I can’t stand sharing my stories with friends and family.  It’s basically like bearing your soul to someone close to you and then just…living with that.  Like I’m putting myself up on display.  And I really don’t feel comfortable with that.  Some form of anonymity feels better.  Which is why getting published is preferable to emailing my relatives every time I finish a new book.

I think that’s it.  Those are the main reasons anyway.  So that’s it for now!  I hope you like my pictures!  I guess you still saw a wall of text in this one but…here, I’ll make it up to you!

Word of the Day: Invigorate (v) – to fill with life and energy; energize

2 Comments

Filed under books, Humor, writing

2 responses to “I Solutioned the Problem!

  1. ‘Girl on a Bus’ has to be my favorite.

  2. Really? I gotta say I love the bunny. No idea where he came from, but he is ridiculously adorable.

Leave a Reply

